Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: redpillswallowed ( )
Date: October 09, 2013 02:00PM

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this discussion forum, although I've been reading posts on here for a long time. Thank you for providing such a great place to try and recover from this LDS mess!
Since this is my first post, a very brief background:
I'm a decendant of several key LDS leaders, from the beginning, in Ohio and Nauvoo (will not mention who because I'm still considered Mormon by family and friends = long background story). I worked for the LDS Church for over 12 years and served in multiple ward and stake leadership positions. I was a 'closet doubter', for years, until my wife finally discoverd, on her own, the lies, problems, and stopped enjoying anything about the LDS Church. It has been a huge relief, for the past few years to share this journey with my wife.

In light of Dieter Uchtdorf's talk last weekend, I quickly became frustrated because the issue, for us, is NOT imperfections! It is all out DECEPTION 'in the name of God'. That is foundation stuff, not small issues among lots of 'inspired events'. I've never had issues with imperfections. It is outright deception that is unacceptable from anyone claiming to 'speak for God'.

In doing an internet search, this week, I came across this: https://www.sunstonemagazine.com/pdf/086-32-35.pdf

Here's a quick look at some of what it says: "When Clayton took a plural wife on 27 April 1843, it was his first wife’s younger sister, Margaret. Joseph Smith supported Clayton in this marriage, saying, "you have a right to get all you can."
"That next month, Margaret became pregnant and Clayton