Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Cheryl ( )
Date: February 04, 2011 10:00PM

Yes, that's what I think.

A child going to kindergarten changes his/her family 100% of the time. I'm a longtime K teacher and know that for a fact. Every parent and little student has to adjust to a new and uncharted situation. Everyone learns to adjust to changes in life. Change happens. That's life.

So why in the world should we assume that leaving the mormon church would not cause major adjustments?

The mormon church programs parents to base much of their esteem on turning out children who buy into the mormon expectations and lifestyle. If a kid decides to dump the mormon life plan,the believing family pays social, emotional, and perceived eternal consequences. That means those invoved must make adjustments.

Who is at fault? I think the mormon church works hard to keep members under their control. They give approval to those who comply and use peer pressure, family disfavor, and priesthood power to curb every "blessing" possible from those who stray.

Some families explode and go crazy when they lose a member to apostacy. Other families adjust and move on because the mormon members harbor their own doubs or they are willing to absorb the brunt of change.

If families must adjust to going to kindergarten, it isn't surprising that dashing their hopes for a perfect eternal family in the Celestial Kingdom would cause problems. I think that this is to be expected.

Families who have stong healthy ties get through kindergarten and apostacies. Those who love the status quo more than their offspring might rant, rage, rail, disown, shun, and harass for the rest of their lives.