Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: xenomorph ( )
Date: January 07, 2014 04:46AM

I have not being going to church for about three years and have been slowly trying to convince my wife and kids to leave too. The other day we had a long drawn out conversation and my wife basically breaks down and says "I cannot deny what I saw, I saw with my own eyes my grandmother and cozen in the temple..." These people both have been dead for a few years.

I have had some crazy spiritual experiences when I was drinking the kool-aid too, but I attribute them to delusion now that I have committed my self to the land of the real and questioning even the "promptings of the holy spirit." Learning by experience that "small voices" or feelings and etc when tested and looked from a practical stand point don't add up and often contradict each other, and frankly make me insane. I think basically if we want something bad enough and dwell on it for years our brains will create mysterious ways to make them come true for us - dreams, warm fuzzies, small voices and visions.

So... how have you fellow realists dealt with people who say they have had "visions?" What are ways I can help my wife see that these are delusions that her brain is creating?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: munchybotaz ( )
Date: January 07, 2014 05:23AM

and that was my kooky seminary teacher who tried to tell me I'd brought Satan to class.

http://exmormon.org/phorum/read.php?2,973903,974210#msg-974210

She talked a lot about having visions, and I'd sit and think "what a weirdo" and wonder why she never got in trouble for claiming to be psychic. I'd been taught that that kind of thing was from Satan and not the Holy Ghost.

Then again, I don't remember ever mentioning it to my parents, so maybe the other kids also kept it to themselves.