Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: nomorefencesitting ( )
Date: January 07, 2014 05:50AM

I was having a discussion with my mom about my cousin and some of the things that she's done to kids who wouldn't sit down and listen in primary. I brought up the fact that if she had just read her primary manual, it would have told her what to do with him. I then brought up that sometimes these callings should not be given out to people who are not trained properly. (These kinds of things are especially unsettling to me because I have been a trained teacher for eleven years). While my mom didn't agree with me on the fact that people aren't properly trained for some of these callings, she did agree that my cousin should have studied her manual.

After our discussion, my mom related a story to me about a time I was in primary. She said she noticed that every time she took me to primary, I would scream and cry and not want to go. So, one day my mom hung around to see what would happen. She said I started crying for her and the primary lady picked me up and shook me really hard. My mom instantly took me out of this woman's arms, scolded her, and then told the bishop that she would not be bringing me back unless I was assigned another primary teacher. The bishop assigned me to another primary teacher, but he did not release the other woman from her calling or discipline her.

As I was listening to this story, I suddenly remembered this woman's face and how much I have never liked her. I could never understand why until my mom told me the story--and then I had an instant flashback of being in this woman's arms and being shaken.

I think it's ironic how after her own experience with a woman who wasn't trained properly to do her calling, my mom can sit there and say that she believes that people ARE trained enough in their callings.

Options: ReplyQuote