Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: raven ( )
Date: January 26, 2011 08:37AM

I prefer to talk to friends on the phone, email when busy or can't catch up, particularly with former coworkers. I have a smart phone but don't text. I am 50 and long ago divorced. I have a few close friends. I don't keep in touch with high school friend and have never attended a reunion. Part of that is avoiding contact with my ex, whom I graduated with. Both my parents are dead and I don't keep in touch with my relatives.

I know there are those who live for Facebook but I can't see the point. Twitter seems a diarrhea of inane thought best left in the cranium.

Are there any benefits to Facebook given my situation?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Timothy ( )
Date: January 26, 2011 08:40AM

Posted by: lulu ( )
Date: January 26, 2011 08:44AM

You're 50.

Date: January 26, 2011 08:57AM

lulu Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> You're 50.

Right. 50. Nearly dead. There are many people my age and older on Facebook. Get over your agist attitude.

Posted by: lulu ( )
Date: January 26, 2011 09:00AM

and my back hurts today.

Lighten up.

Posted by: CL2 ( )
Date: January 26, 2011 08:46AM

I don't do facebook either. I have had many people tell me they have searched for me and I just tell them, "Not going there."

I talk to the people I want to talk to.

To me, facebook is a Christmas brag letter fest on a daily basis.

Facebook is also a place for people you never gave a shit about to be able to "reject" you by "unfriending" you.

Date: January 26, 2011 08:53AM

Posted by: CL2 ( )
Date: January 26, 2011 09:01AM

PERFECT!

Date: January 26, 2011 09:08AM

Posted by: MJ ( )
Date: January 26, 2011 08:53AM