Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: thedrive ( )
Date: February 10, 2011 01:51PM

My grandfather died so I had to attend his funeral this week. All in all not too bad considering what I had mentally prepared myself to expect.

I knew his service would be in a Stake Center somewhere and that I could look forward to the grilling of various family members about my church status. What I wasn't prepared for was the onslaught of comments and questions by a few of my relatives.

"When are you coming back to church?" -- "Never."
"Why did you leave?" -- "I studied myself out. Not offended, didn't sin."
"What can we do to help you return?" -- "Tell Pres. Monson to open the temples to all people who want to worship just as Christ did when he was on the earth. Also, while you're at see if he'll back off the anti-gay rhetoric."
"God will not be mocked. You have mocked God by your actions." -- "Really? How so? Is it because I don't pay tithing? Because I don't attend church anymore? How?"
"You have ruined your family's and children's chance at eternal lilfe. How does that make you feel?" -- "Personally? I don't worry about it. We all have free agency and I've chosen my path in life. I guess we'll all find out how ti all works out in the end. As for now, I'm not worried."
"You've broken the commandments and denied the Holy Ghost. How does that make you feel?" -- "What commandment have I broken? I know of two- 'Love God and love your neighbor.' Unless Christ mentioned another one in the New Testiment than I think I'm OK on that front."

And on and on.

I stood my ground and took their best shots, for over an hour, at convincing me to come back to church and discover the errors of my ways. I held my own and wasn't offended.