Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: jw the inquizzinator ( )
Date: May 31, 2011 03:14PM

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/700140002/President-Buchanan-contemplated-using-Brigham-Young-to-acquire-northern-Mexico-Cuba.html?pg=2

Snippets:

"ST. GEORGE — U.S. President James Buchanan contemplated using Brigham Young and the Mormons in a complex chain of events that would result in the acquisition by the United States of northern Mexico and Cuba, the president of the Mormon History Association said Saturday evening....

...A Presbyterian by faith and a former General Motors executive by profession, MacKinnon is an expert on the Utah War. In 2008, he published "At Sword's Point," a documentary history of the events in 1857, when U.S. President James Buchanan, reacting to rumors from federal officials, sent an armed force to Utah to restore federal authority and replace Brigham Young as territorial governor.

In his address, MacKinnon also debunked a persistent bit of Mormon folklore pertaining to the march of the Army through Salt Lake City after a tenuous peace had been negotiated...

....Earlier in his address, MacKinnon spoke of the Mormon folklore that as the U.S. Army was marching through Salt Lake City, Col. William St. George Cooke passed by the Beehive House residence of Brigham Young and doffed his hat in respect for the Mormon Battalion soldiers who had earlier served under his command.

MacKinnon said, in reality, it was the 10th Infantry's Col. Alexander who doffed his hat for some reason and it was to a small crowd of bystanders. This is according to written reports Young received from his military adjutant, James Ferguson, who was left in Salt Lake City to monitor the behavior of the federal troops."
----------------------------------------------------------------