Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Pista ( )
Date: December 27, 2011 07:53PM

I recently made a post regarding my personal attitude about receiving gifts. I expressed that I choose to be grateful for anything I am given rather than to be upset by it.

I was immediately met with a barrage of posts angry that I was telling people how to feel and insisting that there is no reason to be grateful for unwanted contact.

I have been thinking about this exchange, because I both understand the reaction but still hold my opinion.

First, I was not telling anyone how to feel. I was sharing my thought process, and suggesting that gratitude is better than anger and a sense of entitlement.

I have given a great deal of thought to my feelings on this matter. I have a degree in history and have traveled extensively, including to several third world countries. I use this experience to inform my reactions, and I try to keep things in perspective.

I may not be directly grateful or appreciative to someone giving me something I don't want or in any way harassing me. I have been stalked (not LDS) and it was extremely stressful, but I (and I am talking about myself here, no one else) **I** still feel grateful that:

I live in a place and have enough resources that I can afford to turn my nose up at fresh produce offered in the middle of winter.

I live in a time and place where the person knocking at my door is offering an unwanted book rather than a gun in my face.

I live in a time and place where people might bother me with their presence and their religion, but I am legally protected from it.

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE do NOT take this as criticism. I am not trying to invalidate anyone's feelings or experience. I am trying to share what I consider to be a positive and useful way of dealing with potentially negative experiences.