Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: lefthandedgoat ( )
Date: January 10, 2012 08:50PM

A lot of the dead weight I’ve been carrying around for more then 15 years evaporated over the weekend. The 900+ pounds of hard winter wheat (nitrogen packed), the 200 pounds of beans and other legumes, and some powdered milk, etc all left for a new home via Craig’s List. The guilt and weirdness went with it too.

Gone is the fear my mother instilled in her children, “Not to let the neighbor children play in our basement anywhere near the food storage so that when chaos broke loose in the world they wouldn’t come and kill our family for it.” A good Mormon friend did think I should keep it around for bartering though-LOL

Having some food storage on hand is probably a good idea BUT it’s just too weird to me for now and getting rid of it was just one more way of saying, “See you later suckers”!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Mia ( )
Date: January 10, 2012 08:52PM

I think a fully stocked bar will be a better bartering tool.

Posted by: AKA Alma ( )
Date: January 10, 2012 09:02PM

agreed... "Vices" are what will bring the most return for your investment.

Posted by: jerry64 ( )
Date: January 10, 2012 10:51PM

and a fully-stocked armory

Posted by: SusieQ#1 ( )
Date: January 10, 2012 09:45PM

I like to have backup foods and items, but that's a bit over the top. We never went that far, nor were we into fear-mongering.
It's just good reasoning and common sense to stay ahead.

Posted by: lefthandedgoat ( )
Date: January 10, 2012 10:46PM

I was really a Mollymo TBM (Relief Society Pres kind of girl) and after looking at suggested food supply charts by the Morg this quantity of wheat was enough for our household of seven.