Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: moohno ( )
Date: April 10, 2012 04:18PM

I've read many of the topics and responses and came to the conclusion that I may be unique in my thoughts - but probably not. I served in a bishopric for over 5 years and realized my faith was slowly dwindling away the more I studied, prayed and all of that good stuff. I no longer believe the dogma or doctrine and believe the church (and all organized religion) is merely a platform to exercise control over others and gain wealth for a select few. I don't feel anything during SM when others are crying about something spiritual spoken from the pulpit. I feel dead inside. I watched every session of the April GC and tried to feel what I once did, however, I didn't feel anything other than increasingly disconnected.

I put on a happy face for the family and serve as requested, however, I am not getting any fulfillment out of it. I feel those "good" feelings only when I've served or helped others - usually outside of the church organization.

Why don't I send a letter to the SP and get my name removed in 30 days? Lots of reasons. Family, friends, identity, alienation, disappointing my parents.....The biggest reason? There isn't a better option out there. While the church is founded on less than truthful "happenings", there are lots of good people in the church trying to do good things. I'm proud to be associated with them and be able to call them friends. I know this sounds like I just don't want to face the challenge, and maybe that's correct, however, it makes life easier for those loved ones in mine.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Raptor Jesus ( )
Date: April 10, 2012 04:23PM

Just curious.

Posted by: Owl ( )
Date: April 10, 2012 04:27PM

That is also my question. What are they doing that's good?

Posted by: moohno ( )
Date: April 10, 2012 04:34PM