Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: dudeimmormon ( )
Date: March 10, 2011 07:44PM

You have to learn to love housework. I do!

It bothers me that you don't see the joy of homemaking.

We shouldn't say, "I am an actor" or "I am a writer." We should say "I am a parent who, when my children are taken care of, finds time to write."

I promised I would give everything I had to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. (not God? or Jesus?) No. It's the same thing.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: mobegone ( )
Date: March 10, 2011 07:48PM

I hope I don't offend you, but have you carefully considered making this, "Things my ex-fiance says, vol. 1". If you're not even married yet, and you're coming onto an internet forum to deride the things your spouse-to-be says, I think that may be a bad sign....

Posted by: anon123 ( )
Date: March 10, 2011 07:49PM

I was about to say the same. I would be a bit more blunt "And you're marrying him?".

Date: March 10, 2011 07:51PM

Well, I'm trying to figure out if it's him that's the problem, or if it's me and I need to get over it.

Posted by: anon123 ( )
Date: March 10, 2011 07:52PM

No woman needs to hear this. No woman deserves to be demeaned. Told that she can only define herself as a mother and nothing else. And I find it very demeaning that he tells you that you must learn to love housework. He's gotta help too. This ain't the 50's!

Date: March 10, 2011 07:54PM

He's not the type to not help--he's already better at keeping house than I am--which is part of the problem. I can't just denounce him as a sexist pig. He just really believes the stay-at-home-mom thing.

Posted by: blindmag ( )
Date: March 10, 2011 08:10PM