Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: jenn ( )
Date: June 18, 2012 08:56PM

I've been practicing catholism for the last 12 years. Now I don't believe in the bible anymore. I don't know if I believe in God anymore either. I just don't know what to think. I'm 32 years old shouldn't I have figured this out by now? And if I don't believe in God what do I believe in?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: bona dea ( )
Date: June 18, 2012 08:59PM

You don't necessarily have to take the Bible literally to be a Catholic, so don't worry about that part. As far as God, try not to stress and take your time. Nobody knows for sure and you will eventually figure it out or simply accept that you don't know and can't do anything about it.Maybe talking with your priest would help.

Posted by: MJ ( )
Date: June 18, 2012 10:04PM

But that is no reason to take either as anything but stories.

As soon as anyone stops taking scripture literally it loses all moral authority. As soon as it is open for interpretation, it can be interpreted to mean opposing ideas depending on the morals or the needs of the interpreter.

Then again, it takes some major reinterpretation to make the story of Lot offering his daughters up for gang rape into a moral story.

Que Bona:

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/18/2012 10:05PM by MJ.

Posted by: just a thought ( )
Date: June 18, 2012 09:19PM

jenn Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> And if I don't believe in God what do I believe in?

Let your beliefs follow the evidence. If there is no evidence, then find comfort in the rational approach. A commitment to the approach will allow you to grow more comfortable with uncertainty.

I've found comfort in beliefs that stand on the solid ground of evidence rather than magic thinking with no basis in evidence or reality whatsoever.