Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Ihidmyself ( )
Date: September 19, 2012 09:41AM

Don't believe the church is true? Then just SAY it's true!

You're really NOT a right-wing homophobic bigot? But you pretend to be so you fit in.

Not all that interested in striking up a friendship with a neighbor but the church says you should fellowship them? So you PRETEND you're their friend and invite them over to a "get-together" (usually with other tbms and the invitee as the only non-tbm).

I'm an EXPERT liar! I KNOW what I'm doing. I learned from the best. So why, when a neighbor invites us over to a "neighborhood" dinner here in our 95% TBM neighborhood, I don't believe it's just for fun??? Why can't I shake the feeling that this is PURELY a fellowshipping scheme dreamed up in a Bishopric meeting last Sunday? I mean, we've lived across the street from this family for 13 years and they've never invited us over for dinner.

Don't get me wrong, we really like this family. They are great neighbors and always friendly. But this is such a obvious attempt at social engineering, promoted and managed by the church. An assignment was made and we got invited. I'm tempted to go anyway just for the joy of letting TBMs know you don't need mormonism to be cool people but, alas, we're busy that night... No, seriously.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/19/2012 09:42AM by Ihidmyself.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: John_Lyle ( )
Date: September 19, 2012 06:01PM

Do a wombat on them...

What does a wombat do at a party?

Eats roots and leaves..

roots being a metaphor for... well, you get it...

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wombat)

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/19/2012 06:03PM by John_Lyle.

Posted by: ghost buster ( )
Date: September 20, 2012 02:48AM

Show up drunk.

Posted by: ducky333 ( )
Date: September 20, 2012 03:34AM

LMAO! I spit my drink on my screen.