Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Albinolamanite ( )
Date: September 26, 2012 06:08PM

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/26/2012 06:19PM by edward812k.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: jacob ( )
Date: September 26, 2012 06:09PM

Posted by: icanseethelight ( )
Date: September 26, 2012 06:11PM

Tl dr

Posted by: notloggedin ( )
Date: September 26, 2012 06:18PM

I just cut this into chunks so everyone could read it easier. Let's cut the guy some slack, it takes guts to write these kinds of stories, formatting isn't really what's important.

"If this is a little long but I've been visiting RfM for a few months now and it has been so therapeutic that I thought I would post.

I grew up out West in a small town along the Rocky Mountains. The town I grew up in did not have a large mormon population (mostly Catholic) but it was close enough to Utah and Idaho and only about two hours from other small towns that were almost completely mormon. My Father’s family are TBM’s but honestly I have no idea how they even got started in the church. My Mother’s side is, for the most part, a bunch of hard-drinking, uneducated country folk. You can imagine how much they liked their mormon family members.

My Mom joined in the 70’s when she was 19 while my Dad was out of the country for work. She was all alone, and it must have been so easy for two young men in suits and ties who were about her same age to convince her of all this crazy fear-based nonsense and family-is-forever garbage. She was a perfect target. Needless to say, she joined up, and when my Dad returned they moved back to the small town I grew up in and started replenishing the earth.