Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: steve benson ( )
Date: January 31, 2013 05:23PM

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 01/31/2013 05:26PM by steve benson.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: wine country girl ( )
Date: January 31, 2013 06:59PM

Posted by: Brett4 ( )
Date: February 01, 2013 08:12PM

This is something I guess I would disagree with. I'm no expert, but it seems to me that every civilization, every culture that's every existed on this planet has had some kind of diety (or more likely dieties) that they worship. As if humans were hard-wired to create a religion, to believe in something outside themselves.

But then, being human, there are always people who will use religion to control others to point of abuse and worse.

I don't have a problem with religion but too many people seem to use it as an excuse to turn off their brains. If people want to follow a religion, fine, but they should be teaching their kids that God gave them a brain and it's an insult to stop using it. That's my rant of the day anyway!

Date: February 01, 2013 08:32PM

I think I explained this badly. What I'm trying to say is:

I'm not convinced we "catch" religion from our parents or community or wherever, the way we would catch a virus from them. I think it is somehow in our nature to look for a belief system. What we find may be whatever is around us, like someone in Utah finds Mormonism, or someone in Rome finds Catholicism. But no one has to forcefeed it to us -- we are looking for it, to a greater or lesser degree.

Posted by: donbagley ( )
Date: February 01, 2013 08:50PM

It's a meme virus. The mode of transmission is indoctrination. When a Mormon is fully indoctrinated he will refuse to consider other memes. Yes, you should avoid the flu and bad memes too.