Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Brother Of Jerry ( )
Date: March 02, 2013 02:32PM

In my own experience, the ultra-TBMs in the family are the ones most afraid of dying.

And afraid of losing their eternal family
And afraid of disapproval of fellow ward members
And afraid of Mexicans
And afraid of gays
And afraid of not having enough food storage
And afraid of being stopped for speeding, even though they drive 10 miles under the speed limit
And afraid of Democrats.

Come to think of it, there is not much they are not afraid of.

They are pretty sure they are getting a planet, but try not to think about the whole polygamy side bar on that story.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Greyfort ( )
Date: March 02, 2013 02:35PM

I was too scared to leave. I should have left long before I did. It was after I studied the history and realized that it absolutely wasn't true, that I lost my fear completely and was ready to leave.

Posted by: De Coder Ring ( )
Date: March 02, 2013 02:40PM

TBM's are terrified of dying. I think when GBH was getting cancer treatments at the age of 97 -while allegedly hanging with jesus h. christ himself- speaks loudly about how much they really believe this crap.

I think the most comforting thing I have heard about dying, from a pastoral sense, ironically came from Christopher Hitchens when he stated "Do not fear death you will not know it when it happens" And for what it is worth, Mr Hitchens is currently dead.

Posted by: dogeatdog ( )
Date: March 02, 2013 02:42PM

I don't think they are happy, they're just 'happy'. They are terrified of the unknown. They want to feel they have control over their lives and what happens after.

Posted by: CA girl ( )
Date: March 02, 2013 02:45PM