Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Library 1 ( )
Date: March 10, 2013 11:51PM

I have finally decided I am done with the church. I have been studying the true church history for 2 years. I haven't been to church for quite awhile. I wrote my letter to tell my family. I am so nervous to send it but I am ready to move on. Today I cleaned out all the mormon stuff pictures, books, scriptures, and temple clothes. My husband and kids are with me. I am very lucky. I was the one dragging them along. My husband just went with the flow. I have been telling him what I have learned and he is so mad he wants to resign now. Is there a right time to do it? Do you do it when your sure or should you wait?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: joesmithsleftteste ( )
Date: March 11, 2013 12:17AM

Wow. You guys are lucky to get out all together. We went through everything you described (telling family and taking down church art, etc) about 6 months ago and it has been interesting. Anyway, we still haven't resigned even though family and local church leaders have tempted us. We want to get excommunicated. It just sounds like fun. However, there are many people who oppose that idea because it allows the church to keep counting you on its membership rolls even though you aren't really members anymore. My advice, go with what feels right. If you don't resign, they may not leave you alone, so you might find that they push you into it.

Posted by: rd4jesus ( )
Date: March 11, 2013 12:24AM