Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: ragingphoenix ( )
Date: March 12, 2013 11:06PM

My mother-in-law expressed to my wife that she was embarrassed by some of my Facebook comments. Especially one night when I "liked" 3 pages related to atheism/rationalism/humanism. She expressed that she is embarrassed her friends might see it.

I'm not ashamed.

I just made the following post on Facebook:

"I didn't think I'd ever need to write this but apparently I do. I'm atheist. It just means I don't believe in any god. I'm not claiming I know there isn't one, I'm just someone who doesn't believe in one. I apparently need to clear up a few misconceptions. I am still a humanist who wants people to progress, be happy and healthy. I have morals and ethics. I don't care if you are religious. I have a degree in studying philosophy and history of religions. I have FB friends and family who are Baptist, Catholic, Muslim, Pentecostal, Mormon, Jewish, Agnostic, Wiccan, Atheist, etc...

For you believers out there, many of you post religious ideas and scripture. I have no problem with that!

I only believe in one less god than many of you. I'm not embarrassed or offended if you don't believe in Zeus or Thor. So please don't be embarrassed about me not believing in your god.

Also, don't be offended if I "like" something that isn't in agreement with your faith. If you like a respectful debate, feel free to comment! I like debate! I learn things and am open to ideas.

So please, accept me for me. Don't be embarrassed of me or angry with me because I don't have the same belief system as you."

I'm done with my MIL's bullshit and passive-aggressiveness.

I expressed my concerns to a group that is focused on in-law issues. One person asked "what would your wife say about these issues?"