Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: releve ( )
Date: June 22, 2013 02:21PM

You've probably heard, from the pulpit, a speaker or testimony giver relate a story where one decision led to another, then another and finally ended in an event or an epiphany and, well, the whole thing was just inspired. It was just meant to be, sob, reach for tissue, excuse me for crying, NJC, Amen.

Well, that happened to me.

I had a shelf, like a lot of you, but I was an active member.

In November I was really busy finishing up my seasonal work when the Ward Clerk called to give me an appointment to have my TR renewed, so I told him I'd have to call him back. I didn't get around to calling him back.

I had been teaching Sunday School for six years and I decided that was long enough and though I was supposed to wait to be released, they had perhaps forgotten that I was there. Just before I left town, to go to my TBM daughter's house for Christmas, I tracked down the Sunday School Pres and told him I had my class covered with subs through December and I didn't want to teach Sunday School anymore, so he should organize his new teaching roster with that in mind. He said he'd take care of everything.

I packed my Sunday clothes and went to California for Christmas. I was having a great time with the grandkids and my daughter and her husband and everything seemed just as it had always been. Then my daughter showed me a little video that had pushed her and her husband over the edge and informed me that they were leaving the church. They pulled out some of the information that had led to their decision and shared it with me. There was just one piece that hadn't previously been on my shelf, but you know what that one last piece can do.