Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Elnephi ( )
Date: April 02, 2013 10:29AM

I just got word that an official letter from sent from SLC stating that the LDS church services will now allow "CONSERVATIVE" guitar and drum music in sacrament services. The instructions say quote "these instruments should be used only for opening and closing hymns, but not for the sacrament hymn". Could this be true my source says it is but ???? I need double everything today before I believe anything

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Elnephi ( )
Date: April 02, 2013 10:36AM

Answered my own question. Not true

www.patheos.com

Posted by: breedumyung ( )
Date: April 02, 2013 10:47AM

I played my guitar at my TBM mom's funeral, but only after The Lard okayed it.

As a rock guitarist, I promised to play 'reverently'...

Posted by: sparty ( )
Date: April 02, 2013 11:55AM

I was actually trying to organize a brass ensemble at Christmas-time and Easter one year to help add a little pageantry to the hymns - we were actually rebuked by the SP for even thinking that it would be ok. I think that he was actually more pissed off that I was proposing a bit of J.S. Bach for the postlude music, but he kept insisting that "the hymns of Zion are to be sung reverently and humbly!"

Posted by: notnewatthisanymore ( )
Date: April 02, 2013 12:22PM

Hearing "the hymns of Zion..." phrase makes me want to be violent...

Posted by: sparty ( )
Date: April 02, 2013 12:40PM