Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: hayduke ( )
Date: August 04, 2013 07:05PM

Gag.

http://m.ksl.com/index/story/sid/26288746

SALT LAKE CITY — This summer marks 200 years since Joseph Smith, the founder of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, underwent an experimental surgery that is credited with saving his leg from being amputated. On Saturday, the Smith family honored the doctor who performed the procedure.
Hundreds of runners competed in the "Joseph's Miracle Run" 5k race through "This is the Place Heritage Park" Saturday. The race was a special moment for David Longcope, a descendant of Dr. Nathan Smith, who in 1813 operated on Joseph Smith's leg.

"I'm a physician, as was my father and his father, and it goes back," he said. "There has been a doctor every generation since Nathan — he was the first."

Seven generation later, Dr. Landscope traveled to Utah to represent his family as Nathan Smith was honored.

"Especially as a physician, to appreciate what he was doing 200 years ago is truly amazing," Landscope said.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Frightened Inmate #2 ( )
Date: August 04, 2013 09:26PM

"And even at that tender age the lord was with him, insomuch that he knew not to partake of the bitter spirits, even in a time of pain. And he bit that stick so hard, the end" - Random GA

I saw this thing too, I was puzzled at what the money could possibly go towards, they're saying scholarships, but how much money is in a 5K run?

We need an alternate history of JS, where he had his leg lopped off and wheeled around a diggin for treasure. Maybe even a scene where he flees from some baddies in his wheelchair while holding the plates in his lap. maybe they could do a scene similar to this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K5le9sYdYkM

Posted by: Doubting Thomas ( )
Date: August 04, 2013 09:40PM