Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Need2BAnon4This ( )
Date: August 18, 2013 10:11AM

In the thread on the missionary who wants to come home and had it posted on FB by his mother, it was mentioned that someone (can't remember who) in the MTC hierarchy pretty much diagnosed him with an anxiety disorder.

This is something which is concerning to me.... my dad is a mission president and one of my mom's duties is to do medical interviews of missionaries, and from what I gather this goes fairly in depth. My mom is a great lady and very intelligent, and I know she is just following instructions, but I really feel concern with this setup.... especially as applies to mental health issues.

I am a physician. I practice in a field which refers a good number of people to psychiatry. There is a reason I generally don't try to handle psych issues myself. There are many medical causes of depression and anxiety and I often try to rule a handful of them out, but ultimately a board certified psychiatrist needs to be handling these cases.

So does anyone know if these missionaries have actual access to medical care if they think they need it, or does leadership "diagnose" first and then decide if they get to see a doctor? Maybe I should approach my mother with this question too.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Cheryl ( )
Date: August 18, 2013 10:21AM

mishies in many cases.

As you pointed out, the gatekeepers for care have no qualifications except that they've been parents and might know a little about whatever medical problems they've seen in life.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/18/2013 12:09PM by Cheryl.

Posted by: thedesertrat1 ( )
Date: August 18, 2013 11:40AM

NO NEIN NYET

Posted by: oldklunker ( )
Date: August 18, 2013 11:54AM