Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: habiff ( )
Date: October 08, 2013 11:32AM

I must admit that I'm no expert on the topic but others on this board may be better able to discuss this subject. I do know that whenever Oaks speaks, he uses techniques and suggestions to help members maintain belief. He uses about every cognitive bias known to man. It is deceptive and manipulative. I have read many books on NLP, hypnosis, spatial anchoring and the power of suggestion to acheive a goal from someone else.

Watching JRH side step questions during the BBC documentary was disturbing as was his pacifying actions during the interview. He was moving his holy book between himself and Sweeney. Actions speak louder than words sometimes.

I have been studying TSM in his talks and he uses NLP nested looping in his talks. Nested looping is where multiple stories are told without closing the stories until a suggestion is inserted into the last story. Then the speaker will close each of the stories. This affects our subconscious to "take up" the suggestion. Our minds want to have the stories finished or closed. The story telling is done to create a "trance like" mindset, then cleverly the speaker will place the command or suggestion in the middle of the last story then close the stories.