Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: questionsnoanswers ( )
Date: October 17, 2013 06:58PM

A friend of ours left on a mission to Europe. He has now been in the country for six weeks.

In his letter this week, he stated that he is now finishing up his Visa, and teased he was no longer an illegal immigrant.

I am clueless on all this, but I thought he had his Visa while in the MTC (that is what he said). Isn't this illegal? Is it 'normal' for a missionary to be in a country for a month and a half with no visa? I just hate all the half lies and truths that I keep running into while questioning my life as a Mormon.

This is my first time posting, and I have a lot to post, but I thought this 'easy' topic should be my first. My mind is swirling too much right now to convey my lost and confused feelings right now. :(

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: cludgie ( )
Date: October 17, 2013 09:34PM

Which country, exactly? Anyway, they're under the Schengen agreement now, so I guess there is pretty much just one visa.

At any rate, they're supposed to get a visa before leaving, but it may not always be possible. In Europe there is a reciprocal agreement with the US--they all get 90-day no-stamp visas in the states (that begin with the entry stamp in customs), and we get the same in the various European countries. After that, you have to have a reason to stay plus a visa, and probably also a locally-issued identity document, as well.

Mormon missionaries' struggle getting visas is as old as the hills. The church used to blatantly lie (maybe still does) to countries that didn't issue visas for LDS missionaries. The church would pass them off as basketball coaches and musicians and the like. Church Co. can be very dishonest.

Posted by: brefots ( )
Date: October 17, 2013 09:51PM