Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: caligrace ( )
Date: January 10, 2014 05:24PM

I've been lurking on this board for about a month now, and it has been really helpful. I stopped attending the Mormon church approximately 5 years ago, but I think perhaps I'm just beginning to process all the emotions. For whatever reason, CA girl's topic really struck a chord with me, and I wanted to respond, however the thread was closed.

For me, the hardest thing to let go of is the community and the certainty. I used to feel very safe, like the world was ordered in a particular way, and I was in the right place in it, and all was well. Now, things are not so tidy, and while that is freeing it is also sometimes scary.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: verilyverily ( )
Date: January 10, 2014 05:43PM

Yes I agree, Life outside of the set of LEAVE IT TO BEAVER is more real and reality is not necessarily an Easter basket full of chocolate bunnies.

Posted by: hello ( )
Date: January 10, 2014 08:47PM

When a person is addicted to guilt, it is hard to let go of.

Posted by: exldsdudeinslc ( )
Date: January 10, 2014 08:55PM

For me it's easy to let go of. I wake up every morning with a sense of "oh yeah I don't have to feel like a douche for being a human being." Such a flipping fantastic feeling.

Of course I do know what you mean. But that's kind of the excitement of it...life's what you make of it now. You're in complete control. Embrace it, it's liberating.

Posted by: donbagley ( )
Date: January 10, 2014 09:30PM

It's hardest to let go of your pickle.

Posted by: Bozio ( )
Date: January 11, 2014 06:36AM

But I'm not holding my pickle.

Posted by: Joy ( )
Date: January 11, 2014 04:40AM