Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: tilliegilman ( )
Date: February 10, 2013 12:19AM

From a Myers-Briggs point of view, I would think ESFJ's would fit best because they are outgoing, social, love structure and traditions, are conservative, are feelings-oriented and are dependable about their responsibilities. I also think they'd make the best Mormon leaders.

Next in order in terms of best fit with the culture, in my opinion, would be:
-ISFJ, ESFP & ESTJ
-ISFP, ISTJ & ESTP
-ISTP
-ENFJ
-INFJ, ENFP & ENTJ
-INFP, INTJ & ENTP
-INTP

I base these ideas on the notion that being an "S" is more important in Mormon culture than being an "F", although that also may matter. I think ISTJs and ESTJs would be terrible leaders because they might tend to prioritize rules over peoples' needs and feelings. I think an INTP would really struggle to fit the mold. I'm not an expert at all. Just wondering if and how personality might play a role in why some people stay or leave.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: WinksWinks ( )
Date: February 10, 2013 12:22AM

There's a disproportionate amount of INTJs on this forum, but that's partly because INTJs are all over the internet in much higher percentages than they occur in populations of real life people.

As an INTJ, the church never worked for me... But that was my opinion.

Posted by: raisedbyjackmormons ( )
Date: February 10, 2013 10:18AM

As an INTJ, I never believed even a little bit. Am curious how many INTJ members are TBM. It wasn't ever possible for me to be a believer. I just couldn't. However, my sister bought it hook, line and sinker...100%. Don't know her type, though.

Posted by: Tevai ( )
Date: February 10, 2013 02:19AM

I think INFJ's would have a nearly impossible time in Mormonism. It seems to me that everything in Mormon life would be in contradiction to who INFJ's are.