Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: forbiddencokedrinker ( )
Date: February 05, 2014 10:18AM

I am not a lawyer, nor did I ever work as a fraud investigator. This is just opinions and guesses, based on my own reading and thoughts, and I may be totally off.

I don't think the church can get in trouble for having crazy beliefs. Nor do I think the church can get in trouble for changing one set of crazy beliefs to another set of less crazy beliefs. I believe what makes it fraud though, is that they have knowingly changed their beliefs, in order to make them appear less crazy, and then knowingly lied to the members of the church about what they used to believe. That is where they cross into fraud, and it may be the single biggest trap for a "prophet" led religion.

All religions evolve, and change their beliefs, but when God is supposedly giving you direct instructions, you either have to hide this part, or admit that it doesn't work that way. Basically, every time we are told that a prophet was speaking as a man, when what he said used to be the official policy of the church, the cult has knowingly committed fraud. Especially when they hold up their supposed infallibility as the reason members must give tithes.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Richard G. Spot ( )
Date: February 05, 2014 10:31AM

I am a lawyer (unfortunately). In the U.S., the 1st Amendment to the Constitution protects religious beliefs and affiliations from fraud claims and the like. It's nearly bullet proof.