Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: spicyspirit ( )
Date: May 05, 2014 02:53PM

After 4 years of trial, my dosage of Synthroid has finally made my TSH levels steadily in-range.

My Hashimoto's, undiagnosed, caused me to gain loads of weight. I lost 40 lbs with South Beach, but could stand to lose another 40. I'm wondering what diets have worked for all of you, as I've definitely hit a frustrating plateau.

I've been exercising regularly for about 5 months now, more for long range benefits than to get out of this slump, but I definitely thought I'd see better results. I walk/jog my dog, and do weight training (kettlebells) nearly every day as well.

Also, do any of you take extra supplements that you swear by? I know there are products and somewhat snaky experts out there that have swayed relatives of mine with potions and special tricks, but my awesome doc says to be very wary. I would still like to hear your take on that stuff.

Bottom line: What is your experience?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: fiona64 ( )
Date: May 05, 2014 03:27PM

::raises hand::

I was on Synthroid for two years without much result before I finally bullied my doc's locum tenens into ordering tests I'd been requesting the entire time. I have had a diagnosis of Hashimoto's for almost two months now ... as well as an endocrinologist (who also has Hashimoto's ... and thus both listens and "gets it") who is supervising me.

I can tell you that the thing that has helped me most was going gluten-free (which my endo suggested). It helps keep down the inflammation that triggers the anti-thyroid antibodies. I have also learned to accept that this disease is going to fight me every step of the way where weight loss is concerned and to concern myself more with health at every size than with what the number on the scale says.