Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: godtoldmetorun ( )
Date: September 01, 2014 04:23PM

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: chitownexmo ( )
Date: September 01, 2014 08:10PM

Hi! I'll be there in a month. What part of Chicago?

Posted by: jbstyle ( )
Date: September 01, 2014 08:20PM

Yes -- work in the Loop, live in East Lake View (am a transplant from SLC about 12 yrs ago; exmo as of 2008).

Posted by: The StalkerDog™ ( )
Date: September 02, 2014 09:48AM

I live about 120 miles south of there, near Champaign-Urbana.

Posted by: alx71tx ( )
Date: September 02, 2014 10:37AM

Years ago I was an IT consultant in Chicago and a Counselor in the Bishopric of the Chicago 1st Ward and a solid true believer when I came across a front page article in ComputerWorld magazine about a lawsuit over the church handbook of instructions between Intellectual Reserve Inc. and Utah Lighthouse Ministry. I did some web searching to learn more and came across this message board. Someone posted a comment saying that if anyone still believed in Joseph Smith that they should click on it because it would certainly change their mind. Well I certainly did believe that Smith was a true prophet but I knew that my rock solid testimony could handle whatever anti-Mormon jibberish I might find at that link. And that's when I came across the Kinderhook Plates story which left me wondering "did Joseph Smith pretend to translate those brass-like plates". Months later as this issue weighed on me I fasted and prayed fervently on General Conference weekend for guidance on how to get the Spirit back as this Kinderhook crisis I was experiencing was taking its toll. I thought I felt inspired to do a google.com search on Kinderhook and next thing I know I'm learning a lot about many other issues as the genie came out of the bottle for me. The real tipping point came for me with that Lamanite/DNA