Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: formerrlds ( )
Date: November 02, 2014 10:20PM

I just caught the thread about someone not liking Handel's Messiah and it made me giggle because my one main tie to the church of my childhood (other than still having many friends in the different stripes of Latter Day Saintism) is that I still sing in the Independence Messiah Choir, which has performed the piece since 1916, beginning at Stone Church and later at the RLDS Auditorium (now Community of Christ). I have been singing in the choir off and on for years, from 1983-1986 and since 2003. Since 2010, the Kansas City Symphony has underwritten the performance and beginning in 2011, it has been performed at the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts in Kansas City, MO. Because the venue is much smaller than the Auditorium, the choir had to be weeded severely. The folks who were "cut," along with some singers who had never been in the IMC, formed another choir, which I also sing in, which performs in the spring at Stone Church. It is mostly Mormons and the director is Mormon.

Since I no longer consider myself a believer in God at all, it does feel a little funny to be singing about something I don't care about--but I love music, and you can't be involved in music without religious overtones unless you are the caliber of a Joan Sutherland or a Jessye Norman, and even they had to put in their time in the oratorio world before the glorious opera years. LOL

I'm not really going anywhere with this except to say that I've loved singing this oratorio for over 30 years and I wish we could do every single part of it every year. We never do, though. The spring choir does some of the more obscure choruses, which pleases me, so it all kind of balances out. :)

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/02/2014 10:21PM by formerrlds.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: magic823 ( )