Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: gotta get outta here ( )
Date: January 26, 2015 01:50PM

It's been awhile since I posted here. We live in Utah County. My husband is still active in the church. My two kids and I have been inactive for some time.

Imagine my surprise when the bishop sent a missionary couple to my door on Sunday. My husband wasn't home--he was still at church. The couple, a very sweet husband and wife pair, who looked to be in their 70s, said the bishop had suggested they come visit me and the kids.

Here's where I'm just dismayed for the couple and for me. The bishop, who has known my family for some time, didn't give them all the facts. THey thought I was not a member! (I asked them why they had come.) They were surprised when I told them I was a member of record and that I was a BYU graduate. We talked about their previous mission to a foreign country, how our part of town had changed, etc.

They knew my husband, or claimed to know him because he teaches Sunday School. They asked if I went to church with him. I said very matter-of-factly that the children and I were inactive and did not attend. "And that's how it is," I said.

They looked so dismayed. It was so awkward. I felt bad for them.
I told my husband about it and he said he didn't know them and not to feel bad for them, that being a missionary is getting used to rejection. I thought about emailing the bishop, but I think it would not do any good.

When my youngest is 18 in two years, she and I plan to resign together. My older child is considering it. Overall, the ward leaves the kids and I alone and when I do interact with members, it is generally positive and friendly.