Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: tensolator ( )
Date: August 21, 2015 11:17PM

Two or three years back my wife and I took a trip to sin city
While heading south on I-15 we saw the Cove Fort exit and decided to check it out. It was just another cookie cutter faux church bull-@$&$-a-round. First we had to watch "the video". Then some not-so-sweet "sister" took us on the tour with her memorized schtick. Then I did not think we were going to get our arses out of there because she stood in the middle of the exit and refused to move until we filled out a referral card. We did not. We could not get to the parking lot fast enough. It might have been worse than the Ogden Temple tour.

I dig history, I majored in it. However, I have no desire to visit a church "historical" site again.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/21/2015 11:47PM by tensolator.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Dave the Atheist ( )
Date: August 21, 2015 11:25PM

Dammit !
Now I'm having a bad thought of a hefty woman wrestling you to the ground.

Posted by: noncompete ( )
Date: August 21, 2015 11:40PM

Yea we did the Cove Fort thing when we were still TBM. I'm like you in that i love history. we even got a follow up phone call from the dear sister. now we live in the midwest, close to the "Mormon Trail Center" in Omaha, NE. While I would like to go for historical reasons, the thought that it would be just like Cove Fort keeps me away.

Posted by: UTtransplant ( )
Date: August 24, 2015 09:45AM