Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Lost Mystic ( )
Date: March 24, 2011 07:48PM

Watched the movie "what the bleep do we know anyway" or it's sequel? Or read "a new earth" or "the power of now"?

Good stuff...those basically sum up my view of reality.

What did you think of them?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: zygar ( )
Date: March 24, 2011 07:51PM

"what the bleep do we know anyway" displays a stunning lack of understanding of quantum physics, to start.

I haven't seen or read the other stuff you reference, but if it's nearly as pseudoscientific, you've got a very different world view from mine.

Posted by: Lost Mystic ( )
Date: March 24, 2011 07:58PM

Lol...I guess I need to do more research.

I'm always open to change perspective through the persuit of knowledge. My undergraduate degree was in philosophy and history of religion, so I'm not an expert on quantum physics.

Can you recommend a book?

The books I've listed are on a different topic than the movies btw.

Posted by: jan ( )
Date: March 25, 2011 03:23AM

lostmystic wrote
>

>
> Can you recommend a book?
>
"Dancing Wu Li Masters" by Gary Zukav

Posted by: zygar ( )
Date: March 24, 2011 10:58PM

Well, you could look at the academic response to the movie. http://www.einsteinyear.org/bleep/

There's a pretty decent site about the basics of quantum theory here: http://www.higgo.com/quantum/laymans.htm

As for my own issues with the film, I'll paraphrase Simon Singh:

the suggestion "that if observing water changes its molecular structure, and if we are 90% water, then by observing ourselves we can change at a fundamental level via the laws of quantum physics" is "ridiculous balderdash."

Posted by: Itzpapalotl ( )
Date: March 24, 2011 11:13PM

I seem to remember a former roommate and her friend watching it. I think I watched maybe 10 minutes before I realized it was new-agey tripe.