Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Oldest of 6 First to leave ( )
Date: October 03, 2016 07:01PM

I'm still new to all of this. I only recently discovered the exmo community and learned that I was for from alone. But right now I'm struggling a lot and even though my BF id my rock, he doesn't quite understand or know how to help. A little background. I'm the oldest of 6 children and a family that is directly related to Joseph Smith. I still haven't told my family that I don't believe and I don't plan on doing so until my dad is no longer the Ward Clerk. I don't want them to find out that I withdraw my records as soon as it happens.

Anyways, I'm 21. My sister is 2 months away from turning 20 and just checked into the MTC for her mission. And I'm scared. And I'm concerned that by the time she returns any dislike or animosity she holds towards me for my life decisions will be amplified and the rest of my siblings will be exposed to that since they are all between the ages of 15 and 6.

Does anyone have any experience with a situation like this or have any helpful advice?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: alyssum ( )
Date: October 03, 2016 07:11PM

I feel for you, Oldest. You are very brave to leave alone. It's hard to know how fast to go with family. If I were you, I probably wouldn't mention anything to your sister until a while after she gets home. She may well find some cracks to her shelf on her mission, as did I; but it took me a while to get past the mission "glow" and engage my brain. Then, when I was so bored with reading the BOM I thought my brain would leak out my ears, I was ready to listen. Even then, if my husband hadn't gone slow with me, I probably would have freaked out.