Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: flackerman ( )
Date: December 11, 2016 12:19PM

When I was a freshman in college, I took my first anthropology class where I was taught human evolution. The professor laid out replicas skulls of our hominid ancestors from australopithecus afarensis to homo sapiens in front of us. At the same time I was studying the old testament at the LDS institute about a block away.

I remember thinking that what I was learning about human evolution and history in my anthropology class was completely at odds with what I was learning about the Bible (Adam and Eve, the fall, the flood, the tower of Babel, etc.) in my religious studies. As I was preparing for a Mormon mission at the time, I ignored those thoughts and stuck with Mormon Doctrine.

Now that I am older, and hopefully a little wiser, I find that it is more important to me to allow evidence and reason to shape my beliefs than only paying attention to the evidence that matches my beliefs.

In this video, I explore the contrast between what Mormon doctrine and science say about the origin of mankind. Where does the evidence lie and are they compatible. I thought some of you might find this interesting.

https://youtu.be/yOoSCWuK1Ok

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: dagny ( )
Date: December 11, 2016 02:05PM

Nice job.

I don't know how the youtube ads work. Too bad your video is preceded by a pastor Bible Study BS blurb.

Is this ad something that youtube selects based on my viewing history or did everyone have that ad (that thankfully you can skip)?

IMO, criticism of Mormonism's views of the Bible is not helped when someone else assumes their cherry picked views are any better. After all, there are various Christian groups who take Bible literalism to more extremes than Mormons.

That said, very nicely done. Thanks for sharing it.

Date: December 12, 2016 10:38AM