Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: RPackham ( )
Date: February 14, 2017 11:58PM

I got the following e-mail yesterday (name deleted):

>
Richard,
Problem with the “Problems”--
Since I am a retired university professor, and one of the world's leading scholars on Isaiah, and with some skills in pre-biblical Hebrew, I feel an obligation to make a comment or two. But Richard, since you ask for “no preaching,” I shall not show the incorrect assumptions made in each of the points listed under “Questions and problems.” But as an example, I will take the liberty to point out that my Ph.D. dissertation was on the authorship of the book of Isaiah, which found that the book of Isaiah was not written by multiple authors, but by Isaiah as one author, and all, prior to Lehi's day.
One other problem, in the listed problems, concerns the incorrect assumptions in comparing Hebrew names to Greek names. I would welcome the chance to sit down with you to show how each of the other problems listed are likewise based on invalid assumptions, but that would be a type of preaching. And, as Benjamin Franklin and others, have quoted, “A man convinced against his will is of the same opinion still?”

=============

I responded:

>Most scholars who comment on my writings are courteous enough to:
- specify exactly which article they are commenting on
- identify themselves as to institution
- cite their relevant scholarly writings
- know the difference between "preaching" and factual information
- feel it unnecessary to identify themselves as "one of the world's leading scholars on...."

After some searching, I found that your institutional affiliation is BYU, your Ph.D. is also from BYU, and that you are commenting on my article on the brass plates at http://packham.n4m.org.brassplates.htm