Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: ElizaSnowJob ( )
Date: May 26, 2017 10:14PM

Apparently, since my leaving the church 8 years ago, my parents and siblings have decided that all family activities must involve church. The only time we get together is when someone is being blessed, baptized, ordained, etc. I recently discovered through Facebook that they all get together at least twice a month to go out to dinner and the temple. I had no idea. I've never even been invited to meet them for dinner. Yesterday, my mother called to get my advice on a situation with my grandmother, and informed me that she wouldn't be around this weekend because the whole family was going down to Manti to visit the temple this weekend. Again, I was never invited or included in any way. Trying not to feel hurt, but how can I not? I'm a good person. I'm a college-educated professional that takes care of others for a living. I don't understand why I'm not good enough.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: StillAnon ( )
Date: May 26, 2017 10:19PM

" I don't understand why I'm not good enough."

Because you're not in the cult. That's how cult members are supposed to treat non-cult members.

Posted by: caffiend ( )
Date: May 26, 2017 10:28PM

An idea: Ask them when and where they're meeting for dinner, and invite yourself along. Acknowledge you're not going to the temple, but tell them in a friendly and positive way you plan to join them. Try and steer the conversation to genuinely family things, such as who's well, who's sick, who's doing what at home or work, etc. Be patient when they talk religion, and don't argue. Just let it pass.

It will be awkward, and there may be resistance, but I think it's worth trying, even if you're rebuffed the first few times.

Posted by: ElizaSnowJob ( )
Date: May 26, 2017 10:37PM