Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: brianberkeley ( )
Date: October 06, 2016 02:34AM

"...for to him who is born, death is sure..."
Bhagavad Gita

When I was 25, I was a graduate student desultorily working on a masters in comparative politics. Yes, I was handsomely equipped to fail. So I sold my car, broke up with my girlfriend, and traveled to India through Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, and Pakistan.

In India I saw real poverty and suffering. The burning ghats, and the Towers of Silence, where the parsis place their dead was my first exposure to death. What a shock to see what I saw.

How about you. When was your first experience of death.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: October 06, 2016 02:44AM

My mom's chihuahua ran into the street and was run over. She picked up his limp body and cried. I was maybe four...

Posted by: BYU Boner ( )
Date: October 06, 2016 02:49AM

Fuck! That's brutal for a kid. (((hugs))).

Date: October 06, 2016 02:47AM

When my grandfather died, I was seven years old. My older cousins took me on a "tour" of the funeral parlor. They took me into all the different rooms and proceeded to tell me to look out because the stiffs were coming back alive. Eventually, they played tag, and hide and go seek among the caskets and rooms. I was scared shitless.

I hadn't seen the one cousin for many years. When we finally got back together, he said, "Boner, I'm sorry for the stuff at grandpa's funeral." We laughed as I told him he basically scarred me for life!

I can't stand viewings and Morg viewings with the bodies dressed in temple clothes are especially gross for me.

I got over my fear of death and hatred about all things morbid by watching copious amounts of "Six Feet Under." The Stiff's Boner.

Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: October 06, 2016 03:01AM