Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Tom Padley ( )
Date: October 10, 2017 12:19PM

On the nod is the dream state when taking opiates and other drugs. I have no personal experience with this, but I have taken percocet after dental work and surgery. I've felt like I was floating.

I'm wondering if TBMs get the same high from religious experiences. I've tried to get this high while bearing my testimony and being like the other members, but it never really worked out for me.

Does the cult programming from cradle to grave have that affect on certain people - otherwise rational people? I'm asking for thoughts on this idea.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: catnip ( )
Date: October 10, 2017 09:56PM

With opiate painkillers, I get a bit of a buzz. With the lighter of the two that I am allowed, I'm barely aware of it. With the heavier-duty one, I definitely feel foggy-brained. Alert, but foggy.

I no longer attend church at all, but I can remember sitting at our usual place, in the second row, fighting to remain conscious while bored to death. I was aware that the deacons or whatever were watching me, so I tried very hard to keep my eyes from rolling back in my head or allowing my chin to drop. Essentially, I was asleep - but forced to remain upright. Horrible.

Question for the bread-passers: Did you guys ever take bets on who would nod off first?

Posted by: Breeze ( )
Date: October 11, 2017 12:48AM

I was heavily into Mormonism for my entire life, until about 15 years ago, when I started to question.