Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: brett ( )
Date: March 30, 2011 03:48PM

knowing they will never get an answer. Since the BOM is a work of fiction, no one has ever really had a response from God as to the truthfulness of it. Although no doubt some people have interpreted a random event as being a sign.

Seems like the better idea would be to say "just take our word for it, it's true". Most mormons only need that to accept the rest of the BS.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: beulahland ( )
Date: March 30, 2011 03:52PM

Actually, one of the best ways to control another person is to convince them that something was there idea. I used to utilize this tactic when I was a retail manager trying to get burnt out stoners to do their damn jobs, and it worked better than threatening, cajoling, or otherwise trying to reason with them ever did.

Posted by: Scooter ( )
Date: March 30, 2011 05:26PM

Posted by: EssexExMo ( )
Date: March 30, 2011 04:01PM

People do get a feeling.... this is due to simple psychology

and they are told that this is an answer from god

feelings are more powerful than any amount of logic

Posted by: kestrafinn (not logged in) ( )
Date: March 30, 2011 04:12PM

Because it's the perfect initial manipulation tool where they can claim to be in the right.

People respond "yes" believe TSCC's claims, so it's an automatic win for the TSCC.

People who don't feel anything will either say that they felt God out of insecurity for not being good enough (ah yes, the first time in a lifetime of being LDS), or if they admit they get no response, they will be chastened for not praying hard enough - until the appropriate "yes" is achieved.

People who say they feel a strong "no" are told that they are being led astray by Satan, so again.. TSCC claims moral victory, even if the person continues to be adamant that no, it's not true.