Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Tevai ( )
Date: April 07, 2018 05:18PM

This is of special interest to me, since it includes areas I have some knowledge of, and particular interest in (Swaziland, as well as a number of Khoisan areas, are on the "new continent" side).

When I was growing up, one of the things I most wanted was a globe--and although I didn't get my wish back then, I have three of them now.

Throughout my growing up, I used to spend long periods of time with world maps (at home), or with globes (at school), where I would very carefully examine South America, and Africa, and "see" where they had once fit together, and wonder with all of my might as to how they wound up separate continents with the Atlantic Ocean between them.

Well...THIS is how is happens in real time!!!

THIS is a sort of God's-eye (or space alien's) view of planetary change...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=62wWxqkbx0o

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: steve benson ( )
Date: April 07, 2018 05:47PM

I remember seeing an illustration of the globe with all of the ocean waters stripped off of it, so that you could see the seabed formations, the hot spots and vents, the deep canyons out of which magma is pushed up and spread out, along with the areas of subduction where the surface plates are pushed down, only to reemerge elsewhere—all part of a beautiful interlocking. natural mosaic of mass in motion, puzzle pieces of land being ever so slowly pushed and shoved and moved and shifted around in the grand, ever-changing, majestic process called continental drift.