Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: rosysam ( )
Date: June 28, 2018 01:22AM

I have thoroughly enjoyed this site for a couple of years now and have learned a lot. This is my first time posting something. I hope I am not beating a dead horse with this topic, but as I look at my past in Mormonism, why was it so easy for me to leave and yet I know several people it has been a struggle?

My Story....

I was BIC in 1970. My mother and father just ended a trip where they went and visited many temples and visited grave sites along the Mormon trail of relatives (poor unfortunate souls) that didn't make it to Utah, which my mother was always reminding me about. I had a normal childhood. We went to church every Sunday. I went on a mission where my eyes were totally opened to what the church was all about. Came back, went to college, kept playing the church game, but was losing interest. I had some interesting dealings with mission presidents, bishops, and stake presidents along the way, but hasn't everybody? The last time I went to church was in 1999 and that was that. There wasn't any feelings of guilt or want to go back.