Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Anon for nowww ( )
Date: July 14, 2018 11:00PM

Help! Just finished college and moved back to my home town. I'm an RM but studied my way out due to the history. My mother texted me and said she found out from a mutual friend that I haven't been to church the last three weeks.

She asked if I could stop by the house because she would like to know why I no longer go to church.

I was thinking of explaining to her that I studied my way out and if she is interested in knowing exactly why I will give her Letter to my Wife. Hopefully it will open her eyes or at least understand why I can no longer believe in the church.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Brother Of Jerry ( )
Date: July 14, 2018 11:06PM

you may be lucky, but if I were you, I'd assume this is not going to go well. OTOH, however badly it goes, life will go on. I left in my mid-twenties, and was a reactivation project for mom for almost the next 50 years. I used to joke (black humor) that the only way I was going to win that argument about about why I needed to be Mormon was to outlive her.

It turns out that is exactly what happened.

Free at last. Good luck.

Posted by: donbagley ( )
Date: July 15, 2018 11:46PM

I couldn't wait for my TBM father to die, so I fired him. It's been eleven good years.

Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: July 14, 2018 11:13PM

Ya gotta do something!

Hopefully while she would prefer that you be a good mormon, she loves you enough to respect your mental acuity and your ability to process information.

Also it will help immensely if you don't have neck or facial tattoos and aren't addicted to anything more or less illegal.

Tell her that quitting the church is all the rage and give her RfM's URL.

Just curious, where is dad in all this?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 07/14/2018 11:14PM by elderolddog.