Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: knotheadusc ( )
Date: July 30, 2018 11:04AM

I graduated from college in 1994 with about $10,000 in debt. Then I joined the Peace Corps and deferred payments for a couple of years. I paid another couple of years, then went to grad school and didn't pay for three more years. When I was finished and consolidated everything in 2002, I owed $57,000. I signed up for graduated repayment and a 25 year loan term, mainly because I was about to get married, my husband was broke, and he was paying tons in child support and recovering from the financial disasters of his first marriage.

For the first five years of our marriage, I made the minimum payments. It was all we could afford. Then, my husband went to Iraq and I determined to get rid of debt. I started paying an extra $20 a month on my loans and I used the extra money he got in combat pay to get rid of his credit card debt and pay down mine. We moved to Germany the first time and were able to save more money. I got rid of more debt and kept ramping up my payments to the student loan servicer. They kept sending me letters telling me I didn't have to pay.

It soon became clear that my loans were going to be paid off way before 2027. When I got to about $10,000, I started throwing big payments at my loan until I finally whittled it down to just under $2500. Today, I scheduled my last payment... and, I might add, it was less than the monthly child support my husband was paying for years. My loan servicer changed in May and it cracks me up that I only had to send them a few payments before they were paid off!