Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Dave the Atheist ( )
Date: October 08, 2018 08:59AM

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Aquarius123 ( )
Date: October 08, 2018 10:09AM

Thank you so much for finding this!

Posted by: SL Cabbie ( )
Date: October 08, 2018 03:27PM

Columbus wasn't the first person to discover America; he was the last...

A prominent poster who no longer seems to be around tried to go to the mat with this claim around ten years ago, and well, his BYU education didn't hold up against my "bleeds red" background. And it wasn't that I studied CC in college (although if you're going to have any grasp of literature, one of my majors, you have to have a strong background in history and solid research skills).

The individual largely responsible for this distortion was a Dominican friar named Bartolomé de las Casas. He arrived in this hemisphere as a young man (18), accompanying his father. He was originally a slave trader (exploiting Native Americans, of course), but had his "come to Jesus" moment early, joining the order in 1506.

De Las Casas came to view the native people of this hemisphere as almost "fragile" and ill-suited for the labor they were conscripted into (he had no such compunctions against enslaving Africans).

There's considerably more, and I apologize if this seems like the sort of "black-and-white analysis" I holler about regularly. However, one factor responsible for the "resurrection" of de Las Casa's beliefs and history was the Spanish-American War of 1897. Since de Las Casas generally vilified the Spanish, he was used as an effective "propaganda device."

The real issue, as I see it, is "presentism," which is defined as "uncritical adherence to present-day attitudes, especially the tendency to interpret past events in terms of modern values and concepts."