Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Nightingale ( )
Date: May 17, 2019 04:32PM

I am out of the loop (thank goodness, but so curious). I read many negative references to Wendy Nelson here but have no idea what the basis is.

Could you let me in on it?

Likewise Sherri Dew, actually. I don't know either why she receives scathing criticism from some exmos. I attended a talk she gave when I was in SLC way back when. I quite liked her and thought she was a good speaker. Granted, there was no personal contact but just my (limited) impression from one encounter.

I guess I wince a bit when women come in for sharp criticism. I know that is a double standard. But it's obvious to me why ex-members would criticize whoever the Mormon prophet happens to be. The wife, not so much (?).

I'm not defending them. I have no knowledge or information one way or the other so would like to gain some understanding for the expressed rancour towards both women.

Thanks for any enlightenment.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Done & Done ( )
Date: May 17, 2019 04:57PM

It is her pray away the gay speech that made me dislike her.

"...the savior has paid the price for every gift of the spirit we will ever need to help us, its up to us to prayerfully discover which gift we need... Perhaps we need the gift to have our sexual feelings be in harmony with eternal laws."

Paraphrasing now. She goes on to say that "desperation" is the key to overcoming sin and that if we are still sinners it is because we lack the necessary desperation. Same as the drivel from SWK about knocking on the door until your hands are bloody.

She embodies the worst of all the apostles rolled into one. Same old benevolent facade but there is a viper behind it.