Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: ptbarnum ( )
Date: January 25, 2020 02:36PM

Over on the "Your First Apostate Thoughts" thread, I said it was D&C 132 that was the first "doubt sprout" for me.

As an eager to please little puppychild, I was such an ingratiating student that my VTs made something of a pet of me. Right after my baptism, we started meeting once a week for scripture study. I was an avid amateur historian and wanted to know everything about the founders, the pioneers, and the prophets.

It's funny to remember now, with wiser sight, how evasive these ladies often were about early cult history, and how closely they censored my reading material and fenced in my personal interpretations of scripture. I only had my blue paperback BoM which I was having trouble reading all through, and my personal pre-Mo Bible was NIV, not KJV. But I was really excited and determined to begin to read and correlate D&C, so the Sisters bought me my own Quad. Which I read, which contributed to my leaving. I don't think they know that Quad is part of why I left. Perhaps they should refrain from giving them out, even to really submissive and ready to be brainwashed damaged little puppies like I was.

So in a tribute to my assigned friends, these ladies who led me to discover D&C and the BoA, I have brought forth a new revelation. This one came to me while I was unloading the dishwasher just now. Steam befogged my spectacles, and within the steam I beheld the undivine word, written in Reformed Dirtdishen.

Barnum and Covenants 1:
Oh, my Molly Mentors of bygone days, verily, verily, I say unto thee, gift thou not a Quad to the convert thou wisheth to clasp unto thy bosom, for if thou giveth the Quad, dost thou expect she shall not read?