Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Tevai ( )
Date: September 07, 2021 12:57AM

I have been increasingly annoyed in recent months by the apparently steadily increasing (at least in the USA) use of "passed away" instead of "died."

Personally, I think "passed away" is weaker (both linguistically and psychologically), and as a writer, I generally prefer less ambiguity and more specificity.

A few hours ago I suddenly realized I could Google this question, and this link came up:

https://www.joincake.com/blog/passed-away-vs-died/

The article is interesting, and basically says that the use of "passed away" has a more religious perspective, while the use of "died" is a direct statement of fact.

Has anyone else here been annoyed by this happening-right-now change in our language and our cultural perceptions?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/07/2021 12:58AM by Tevai.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: hecki ( )
Date: September 07, 2021 01:04AM

Some think it is rude to say died rather than passed away. I think passed away is used more by people who can't accept reality.

Posted by: Dave the Atheist ( )
Date: September 07, 2021 01:04AM

Bought the farm ?

Posted by: Heartless ( )
Date: September 07, 2021 01:24AM

For most of my over half century I almost always heard passed on, passed away or just passed.

Date: September 07, 2021 01:30AM

Heartless Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> For most of my over half century I almost always
> heard passed on, passed away or just passed.

This is interesting (at least, is is to me!).

So you are saying that people around you, for the last fifty years or so, mostly preferred "passed" rather than "died"?

I wonder: is there a geographical element involved here? (In other words, is this a custom which has been previously prevalent in LDS-predominant areas?)