Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Ex-CultMember ( )
Date: April 15, 2022 10:51PM

So I’m a firm “believer” in science, the ancient age of the earth, evolution, and the Big Bang Theory but one thing I don’t quite understand is how “all life” on earth, particularly animals and plant life, all descend from the same single organism. I’m no expert, so there’s probably some explanation, I just never came across it before.

So, fish, reptiles, birds, dinosaurs, mammals, plants, worms, fungal, jellyfish and all other living organisms are all theoretically related and if you go back far enough in time, we all will share a common ancestor. And, theoretically, if conditions are right on other planets, they, too, could develop life INDEPENDENTLY from Earth, even advanced organisms, like those found on earth.

What I don’t quite understand is why ALL biological life on this planet is related (or assumed to be related) and why there couldn’t be flora or fauna that also originated on earth but not all be related. If all life originated from some tiny organic molecule, why couldn’t life arise independently from the other millions or billions of life-producing molecules that arose 3-4 billion years ago?

My understanding is that billions of years ago, Earth’s environment developed the right kind of conditions for this planet to create and sustain life and it started via sone kind of complex molecules, I’ll just call them “bio-molecules,” that were self replicating and eventually ONE of these bio-molecules is the Adam & Eve of all life on this planet? Is that correct? If all life on Earth is related, then all life forms on earth must have evolved from the same, single original common ancestor, correct?