Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: newcomer ( )
Date: July 26, 2022 01:21PM

Colleagues found out the office Mormon is now a grandfather to 9 kids in poverty.

He has only told us about 5.

I have a feeling he got embarrassed or shamed by all the questions asked after the first 5 were born. (One time they asked him what his son-in-law does to support 3 kids and a wife. They asked, “Is he a doctor, lawyer, businessperson?” Mormon answered that he was a soldier and from their facial reaction he visibly recoiled.)

This should be interesting when they confront him about what they found out online.

The person who found this out knows the oldest daughter like I do. And it’s quite sad: this daughter of his wasn't a Rhodes Scholar but to see her take a job after high school as a Walmart cashier when her classmates started college and to see her now a mother of 5… it’s breathtaking and not in the good way.

Mormons shouldn’t be doing things they’re embarrassed about.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Fascinated in the Midwest ( )
Date: July 27, 2022 11:37AM

Your Office Mormon is not directly responsible for his offsprings' decision to bear 9 children in poverty. The adult children had choices.

Yes, he may have raised them in a cult that believes that each child gives a spirit a body on Earth. The adult children are responsible for what they do with that information and their actions.

Maybe Office Mormon is embarrassed? Maybe Office Mormon diverts a chunk of salary to help these families keep the lights/heat on, food on the table, etc. and he cannot keep up?

I feel badly for everyone taken in by any cult-church.

Posted by: summer ( )
Date: July 27, 2022 11:46AM

It sounds like two different cultures running up against each other. I suppose that nevermos get the same treatment when the tables are turned.